1994.5 - 1997 7.3L Power Stroke Diesel  

downpipe question

Search this Thread

Old 10-13-2008, 03:47 PM
952X4
Senior User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
downpipe question

I'm just getting started with my mods, and am hooked already, have the 6637 ordered and am now thinking downpipe and exhaust...E-mailed a guy at Tymar about getting a 3 inch downpipe and a 4 inch exhaust from there back that will delete the cat convertor...He gave me a price that sounds reasonable from what I've seen elsewhere and suggested getting the downpipe ceramic coated, I've haven't see any threads on here about that so here's what he said.. Not sure how to insert a quote in these threads so will try this...

""A downpipe option I offer is ceramic coating, which acts as a thermal barrier (1300° inside the pipe only radiates 65° outside the pipe), and retains the heat in the exhaust gasses. A hot gas likes to expand. Using the Hypermax pipe, when the hot exhaust hits the 3” to 3.5” section it expands and cools slightly. If you go with a 4” exhaust, it expands again from the 3.5” into the 4” section, creating staged expansions. As it expands into the larger sections it creates a vacuum behind it that pulls more volume through the original 3” section than the turbo could push through it by itself, lowering restriction and increasing efficiency. I can order the downpipe and have it drop shipped to the ceramic coaters, then have the coaters drop ship it to you to save some money on shipping costs. Ceramic coating is $84.38, along with shipping charges adds another approximate $50.00""

My question to the great guys on this forum is... Ceramic coating is it worth it??

Old 10-13-2008, 04:24 PM
otpracer100
Senior User