Notices
1987 - 1996 F150 & Larger F-Series Trucks 1987 - 1996 Ford F-150, F-250, F-350 and larger pickups - including the 1997 heavy-duty F250/F350+ trucks
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

1993 F150 Fuel Pump Not coming on

Search this Thread

Old 09-13-2008, 07:30 PM
thelostartof
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
1993 F150 Fuel Pump Not coming on

So I am a newbie to these fords and I am trying to help friend.

Truck is a 93 F150, 4.9L I6 2wd

I can not get the fuel pump to turn on(this is a single tank system)

is there another way to test the fuel pump without dropping the tank? I can not see any real easy way to get to the fuel pump wiring w/o either removing the tank or the bed of the truck.

I have checked the Inertia Switch and it is depressed and when I tried to jump the wires the Truck would still not fire up.

I can sit there and spray carb cleaner into the TB and it runs just fine. The truck does have fuel(at least 3 gallons that I just put in).

I am pretty sure it is the fuel pump or something in the wiring to it. From what I have read on here It seems like that center relay is the fuel pump relay. I have jumpped a wire from the 30 to 87 post on the truck and it still does not turn on the pump. Anything else I should check before I drop $150 on a new set of pumps and get to dropping the tank?

If I Ground Pin #6 on the Test Connector I can get the Relay to Click on and off. So Is this the last bit of testing I needed to do before I replace the Pump?

Thanks
Mike

Old 09-13-2008, 07:47 PM
subford
Fleet Owner
Received 228 Likes on 177 Posts
Originally Posted by thelostartof
I have jumpped a wire from the 30 to 87 post on the truck and it still does not turn on the pump. Anything else I should check before I drop $150 on a new set of pumps and get to dropping the tank?
I give what is a 30 to 87 post?

You can try grounding pin #6 of the DLC with the key on and see if the selected pump runs.

Note:The wire color is wrong in the image below for the 93.