Brakes, Steering, Suspension, Tires, & Wheels  

traction bars

Search this Thread

Old 08-18-2008, 12:58 AM
klemklubfoot
Freshman User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
traction bars

Hello I have a 93 f150 with a detriot locker and a 4" lift. there are lift blocks in the back now which I am taking out, before I am told that "they get spit out".
My question is I have been looking at some tuff country traction bars which I think would help distribute the trucks incredible traction and keep things tight in the back end.

As for the lift blocks they will get replaced by re-arched springs
Traction Bars - Tuff Country EZ-Ride

Any body have any experience with these traction bars

thanks
tyrone

Old 08-18-2008, 08:19 AM
Conanski
FTE Legend
Received 961 Likes on 761 Posts
I have no experience with this brand but this style traction bar is the best option for leaf spring suspension next to ladder bars IMO, it will effectively eliminate most of the axle wrap, which is what spits out blocks and breaks driveshafts and U-joints.

Old 08-18-2008, 10:13 AM
75F350
Post Fiend
Received 6 Likes on 4 Posts
I have to respectfully disagree with this style being the best option for a leaf sprung axle, especially 4wd trucks.
This design is as close to the worst, as one can get.
These bars are far too short, and limit wheel travel all together. While they are effective at controlling axle wrap, the recourse is far too great to make these a reasonable solution.
The axle will move on an arch during normal suspension cycles, and this arm / bar with its limited length moves at a different arch during the same suspension cycle.
The difference in arch reduces suspension compression,and extension. Depending on the angle of the traction bar, could limit total travel to just a few inches.
If you intend to eliminate the block, the spring will sit right on the axle tube, thus creating an even greater angle on this traction device, and this will pronounce an already existing problem.