Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Need help! F-350 Home-Made Lift?

Search this Thread

Old 08-10-2008, 01:31 AM
Prozon
Postmaster
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question Need help! F-350 Home-Made Lift?

Hey! This is my first time posting, looks like a great website and I hope to get more involved.

I have a '88 F-350 that I wheel with and was wondering if anyone could tell me what needs to be done to lift my rig 8 inches. I'm on a low budget. Which is why I would prefer something home-made.

I've heard of putting blocks on the leaf springs and getting bigger u-bolts to increase the lift, but it seems an 8 inch block is a bit much.

I know i'll need to buy new shocks and things like that, but I would prefer not buy a lift kit for a few hundred dollars! (Just to make my point, I can't FIND an 8 inch suspension lift anywhere.)

Is there anything I can build that will allow more lift? The truck has leaf springs all around. Pictures would be nice, but whatever help you can give is appreciated!

Thanks!

Old 08-10-2008, 03:45 AM
Truckin4life
Street Queen to the extr3m3
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Lift blocks are a bad idea in general, they cause axle wrap, which is not a good thing.

Goin with an 8 inch lift. what size tires are you running, What motor/trans you got and what gears are in the axles?

There is much more to look at here than just the lift.

But to answer the original question, Ive heard good things about SKY 4" drop brackets and do a shackle flip in the rear that will net you 4" get some 4" lift springs and there is your lift, but your going to need longer break lines, steering will need extension (sorry my brain wont tell me what you need to extend)

On to tires with a 8" lift your lookin at about 38-40" tires to fill that much gap,
So Big one, GEARS, 4.88"s at the least, assuming you have a strong motor, if not. 5.13"s for you, figure on about 1500-2000k for the set installed.