1994.5 - 1997 7.3L Power Stroke Diesel  

Tranny fluid/rear differential change list (what did I forget)?

Search this Thread

Old 08-04-2008, 09:01 PM
tndiesel
Elder User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Tranny fluid/rear differential change list (what did I forget)?

Gonna change my tranny/differential fluid, here is my list of what I need: Add or delete as necessary.

1. Tranny fluid 12 qts.? Exactly what kind?
2. Tranny filter, where do I get it?
3. Lube guard to put in with tranny fluid?
4. Gear oil, 90 wt. or 75 wt. how much? My rear end code is D5
5. brake cleaner for differential and tranny pan cleaning-(normal shop rags)?
6. silicone for differential cover when putting back on. What kind of silicone?
7. Friction additive for differential? What kind?

Can you tell I've never done this before?!

Old 08-04-2008, 09:32 PM
tndiesel
Elder User
Originally Posted by tndiesel
Gonna change my tranny/differential fluid, here is my list of what I need: Add or delete as necessary.

1. Tranny fluid 12 qts.? Exactly what kind?
2. Tranny filter, where do I get it?
3. Lube guard to put in with tranny fluid?
4. Gear oil, 90 wt. or 75 wt. how much? My rear end code is D5
5. brake cleaner for differential and tranny pan cleaning-(normal shop rags)?
6. silicone for differential cover when putting back on. What kind of silicone?
7. Friction additive for differential? What kind?

Can you tell I've never done this before?!
Bump, I know I'm being impatient but I'm gonna try and go buy all this stuff early in the morning.

Thanks!

Old 08-04-2008, 09:35 PM
c00nhunterjoe
Post Fiend
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
dexronIII for tranny fluid, pick up a couple extra qts in case.

get any filter you like, they are just plastic...lol i got mine from advance auto for around 15 bucks, your gasket is reusable.

i dont add anything to the tranny other than fluid.