2004 - 2008 F150 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007 and 2008 Ford F150's with 5.4 V8, 4.6 V8 engine
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Edge Programming

Search this Thread

Old 08-02-2008, 11:30 PM
JBoe
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Edge Programming

While i'm new to the forum i'm definately not new to modding cars/trucks/etc..

However i've never used the Edge products before and i've noticed there are some guru's on here. I have a question but first the setup...

I have an 04' F-150 Scab FX4 with Outlaw CAI, straight piped exhaust with all cats, and new HT1 plugs(changed them just out of habit 50k miles)... the programming was easy and after updating the unit to ensure I had the latest and greatest I programmed the truck. Under #3 power setting I used the custom programming to factor in the increased tire size(285-65-R18's), open up the WOT shifts(5400 1-3 and 5100 4th), 5600 revlim, 10% increase on shift firmness, 125mph limiter, 1.25WOT fuel, and .25 timing increase. I'm using 91 octane and the truck is great.

My question is:

Since i'm using the #3 programming mode will my custom adjustements be on top of the "canned" program or take the place of their settings.

For example... is the #3 shift firmness harder as "canned" and then an extra 10% added or is the shift firmness zero'd since i'm custom tuning?

I ask this as when I look at all the settings under the custom options most are zero'd but some were different than other settings. The WOT shifting was different and the WOT fuel was 1.15 originally.

I did try to just load up the basic #3 program and found it was great... but with my adjusted settings I liked things better. I just want to ensure the advanced timing and fuel curves of the #3 option are still in place as edge intended.

Any inputs are greatly appriciated.