6.0L Power Stroke Diesel 2003 - 2007 F250, F350 pickup and F350+ Cab Chassis, 2003 - 2005 Excursion and 2003 - 2009 van

changed fuel filter now idling rough

Search this Thread

Old 06-22-2008, 07:33 PM
juneau76
Postmaster
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Question changed fuel filter now idling rough

Ok, admittedly I am no expert on anything. I decided to change my fuel filters for PM purposes. I went step by step and did the key on/off routine, etc. I started the truck and let it idle for a while. It sounded fine for a bit then started idling rough. I cycled the key a couple more times then restarted...same deal. So, the question would be what did I do wrong? Any help is appreciated.

Thanks,

Brad
2003 F-250 4x4 Supercab 6.0L PSD

Old 06-22-2008, 07:51 PM
bigredtruckmi
Lead Driver
Received 218 Likes on 50 Posts
Did you have a hard time getting the on frame filter cover on. Might have it on crooked so gasket isn't sealing or it might not be on tight enough letting air in. It is in a very difficult spot to check.

Did you use a ford filter or a will fit. there have been reports of some problems with will fit filters.

Old 06-22-2008, 08:42 PM
juneau76
Postmaster
I used an OEM filter. I did have to futz around with the frame mounted filter to thread it on right, but I was pretty sure it wasn't cross threaded. The other things that I thought were weird was that the fuel gauge showed empty (has 1/2 tank) and I swore I heard a hissing from the engine compartment or somewhere that I couldn't pinpoint because of the engine noise. It sounded like air rushing out, but I guess that could be air rushing in. I torqued both filter caps to spec. I'm not anxious to pull them both out and start all over again due to the diesel bath I took because of an improperly located drain pan...

Brad

Old 06-22-2008, 08:48 PM
bigredtruckmi
Lead Driver
Received 218 Likes on 50 Posts