Go Back   Ford Truck Enthusiasts Forums > Regional Chapters > Western Region > Utah Chapter
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?

Utah Chapter Join Chapter, Leader: wooddyusa

Welcome to Ford-Trucks Forums!
Welcome to Ford-Trucks.com.

You are currently viewing our forums as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join the Ford-Trucks Forums community today!

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-05-2008, 08:49 PM
New User

raebear is starting off with a positive reputation.
Noob here!

Well hello all. I just bought a 57 F-100 Custom Cab, good shape over all except for a motor that is toast. Think I got a pretty good deal, now I need to decide whether to make it an official project or sell/part out for another ongoing project. I know nothing about these older Ford pickups other than than make some sweet rides when done. Any help as where to dig up info would be appreciated.
First questions are....
1. Any guesses on what motor it may have been? or how to find out?
it is a V8 two barrel carb-holley, truly toast, big hole in side of block.
2. I think it has a 4 speed; feels like it- floor shift, any idea on what tranny or how to tell? Did they put 4 spds in these?Yup 4 speed
3. What motors will work. And or motor manual trans combos, cheap reliable and readily available?
4. Would a going to a small block chev motor and tranny be a easily doable alternative. (leave it alone you blue oval purists)
5. What are the best options for tightening up the front end
6. Power steering
7. Better brakes
8. Good links here to read?