1948 - 1956 F1, F100 & Larger F-Series Trucks Discuss the Fat Fendered and Classic Ford Trucks

Steel fenders for 51-52...

Search this Thread

Old 04-23-2008, 06:42 PM
Doraville
Senior User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Steel fenders for 51-52...

I explained in a previous post that I'm a newbie, so please pardon me if I ask a dumb question or two. The '51 F1 that I bought has '53 steel fenders on it. After looking around for the right fenders, I understand why. It appears that steel fenders for '53 and up are readily available, but all I have found so far for the 51-52 are fiberglass. I'll go that route if I have to, but I'd rather have steel if I can find them.

Any ideas?

Peace,
-Doraville

Old 04-23-2008, 06:53 PM
bobbytnm
Roast em' if you got 'em
Received 3,790 Likes on 1,824 Posts
Welcome to the board.

I take it we are talking about rear fenders here? Yes the 53 and up are readily available as they used them up through the 70's. The basic bed box is the same with the exception of the fender bolt holes.

There is no such thing as reproduction steel fenders for the 48-52 trucks (the 48-50 fenders are slightly different as well as there was a raised panel on the bedsides on the earlier trucks)

Bobby

Old 04-23-2008, 09:30 PM
bobj49f2
Hotshot
Received 2,051 Likes on 802 Posts
Your best bet might be eBay. The steel ones pop up often, maybe every other month. I rarely see any that don't need repairs though. The NOS rust free ones that do show up on occation go for big $$$.

Old 04-23-2008, 09:33 PM
51ford fan
Posting Guru
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
I just saw some steel fenders for a 51 (I believe) on Ebay the other day.

Old 04-24-2008, 08:19 PM
mytbtruck
Laughing Gas
Originally Posted by Doraville