1983 - 2012 Ranger & B-Series All Ford Ranger and Mazda B-Series models

2.3 L Duratec

Old 04-06-2008, 12:06 PM
xlsportrider
Freshman User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
2.3 L Duratec

Well it has been about a month after my Ranger has been repaired. To bring everyone up to speed. I had the oil filter gasket spring a leak on me at 2 degrees fahrenheit. All the oil was lost and well, you can guess the results with only 10 seconds of running like this. Couldn't get it shut off fast enough.
I had, available to me, full use of a technical schools shop, as I am a student there. Labor was free.
Upon tearing the engine down I had found that the number 1 cylinders' rod bearing had spun scoring the crankshaft .010 of an inch. For some reason, the main bearings and journals weren't hurt in any way. Must be that the mains get oil first then the rods.
For machining. I had to have the rod journals cut .020 undersize. The kicker here is that NOT ONE bearing supplier has main bearings available for the 2.3 Liter Duratec engine. Something about they are on national back order. Also the rod, for that cylinder, had to be replaced. It was beyond repair.
Another shock was Ford doesn't service the lower end of this engine. It is what you'd call a "world" engine and is more or less a throw away engine. They require you, in their shops, to buy a short block as the only alternative for repair.
I had started a thread about special tools needed for this engine. I made both of them. The cam holding tool was made out of some 1/4 inch flat stock. The crankshaft timing peg (ESST no. 303-507) is 2-1/8 inches or 54 mm long. I made that as well by finding a blot that fit the threads in the engine block and welding stock to it. I ground it to the proper length saving lots of money in the process.
Reassembly went by uneventful. I replaced the clutch assembly, also, while I had it apart. I figured that the way my luck had ran, that was a wise thing to do.

Old 04-06-2008, 04:30 PM
crazypaw
Senior User