327 stroker

Search this Thread

Old 03-16-2008, 06:32 PM
handsomerob
Senior User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Talking 327 stroker

Well I'm fairly new to the stroker idea, however I have been looking at rebuilding a 302 efi for my 1990 F-150 4x4 and I thought hey want not build a stroker.

After doin some reading the 327 stroker is the more dependable way to go as opposed to the larger 347.

I have also seen 331 stroker kits out there.

My question is and I'm sure this will sound stupid and will have a very involved
answer with a lot of depends on . . . etc.

however my question is, is a 327 stroker efi do-able and or practicle? should I bother with it? Is it something a mechanically inclined patient person can handle on thier own? Would the cylinders need to be bored? How many of the stock parts can be re-used?

I want to build a motor with some low end torque wich according to the articles I've read I can expect around 300 ft-lb and around 300 hp.
I also want it to be dependable and something that will handle the average everyday driving but give me that grunt for offroad and hauling.

any input or comments would be appreciated.

your input will help me decide on the build I will do.

Old 03-16-2008, 07:35 PM
dragogt
Posting Guru
if I'm not mistaken, a 327 is the same as the 331 but w/ a standard bore.

as far as EFI shouldn't be a problem, but you will probably need a chip to take advantage of the extra cubes.

power wont be a problem, you should easily make 300hp & ftlbstq.

Old 03-16-2008, 08:30 PM
handsomerob
Senior User
Where would I get a "chip" and would I require a larger intake or injectors?

Old 03-16-2008, 08:39 PM
dragogt
Posting Guru
I'm not real good w/ EFI but I'd guess that a GT40 or a lightning intake would be a good factory upgrade or probably any one from Edelbrock or Holly would work for ya.

the stock 19# injectors should be plenty?