floor pan replacement

Old 03-05-2008, 06:45 PM
brownieboy525
Senior User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
floor pan replacement

i just bought an 85 ranger that i think i am going to be useing as a mud truck.Well it sat for a few years and the carpet got wet and now the pass side floor pan it gone. I want to replace it but i have never done body work before so i have a few questions. First i am looking for a welder i just want it to do body work not much more. http://www.homedepot.com/webapp/wcs/...ctId=100093231 i am thinking of this one with a gas set up is it going to work for body work? Also what gauge metal is the cab made out of becasuse theres a few rust spots i want to patch up. can i just use some sheet metal i get from home depot? Also anyone have an tips on how to weld sheet metal and weld in patch panels.

Old 03-05-2008, 07:42 PM
cujo8
Posting Guru
That welder will work just fine for you, I have one very similar to that model and I've had it for more than 14 years now. It looks like it comes with a video, so if you have a VCR it will probaly answer many of your welding questions. You can use sheet metal from just about any source as long as you get the same gauge sheet metal. I'm thinking you want 18 gauge sheet metal for what you're doing. Do some searches in this section for welding tips, there's been discussions on this topic recently. Also you may want to look into 3M's Panel adhesive as a welding alternative. There a quite a few discussions about panel adhesive on this forum as well.

Old 03-05-2008, 08:15 PM
brownieboy525
Senior User
is panel adhisive good for floor pans? do you think it will hold becase the rust is right were the cab mout sits. I think i try the panel adhisive to fix the wheel well arches since thats more visable.

Old 03-05-2008, 08:50 PM
cujo8
Posting Guru