Notices
1987 - 1996 F150 & Larger F-Series Trucks 1987 - 1996 Ford F-150, F-250, F-350 and larger pickups - including the 1997 heavy-duty F250/F350+ trucks
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Clutch pedal to Clutch Master cylinder linkage

Old 02-25-2008, 03:51 PM
Ford Breakdown
Senior User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Clutch pedal to Clutch Master cylinder linkage

95 F150 I6 4.9L Manual transmission.

Got a loud clunk every time I hit the clutch pedal. It's definately inside the cab. Took it to my mechanic and they wanted to put in a new master cylinder. I said hold off, since the first one lasted 8-9 years and this one's only been in 3 years.I studied the problem more closely and see that the pushrod for the master cylinder is jumping almost off the linkage that is connected to the pedal. Went to Ford agency and ordered a new bushing, but it looks like there's a lot more to that connection than the bushing they provided. Anyone ever work with this linkage? Should there be an "E" clip or something keeping the pushrod from jumping off the linkage to the pedal? Ford's diagram was inconclusive.
Would appreciate any real-world based observations or suggestions. Thanks.

Larry

Old 02-25-2008, 04:07 PM
baffledinpa
Senior User
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
On my 96 the linkage went on both sides of the clutch pedal and had both the bushing and c-clip to hold the pin in place.

Old 02-25-2008, 05:10 PM
EPNCSU2006
Lead Driver
Received 26 Likes on 22 Posts
That's the pedal itself...the ball on lever on the master cylinder end of the linkage does not have any clips. Just the bushing holds the master cylinder push rod in place. However, I would suggest checking the whole cross shaft for play. If the bushings on the clutch pedal cross shaft (from pedal to master cylinder lever) are worn and allow the cross shaft to move, it can wear out the small bushing on the push rod lever prematurely.

Old 02-25-2008, 06:13 PM
krol
Senior User