1999 - 2003 7.3L Power Stroke Diesel  
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DP Tuner

please help! run it empty, won't start now!

Search this Thread

Old 01-27-2008, 08:45 PM
kupferhh
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
please help! run it empty, won't start now!

Hi folks, I'm new to this but I need your help. I ran my early '99 F250 dry last friday, at least I think that's the problem. After a cold start I made it for about 1 1/2 miles when it started to loose power and became a little louder till it finally stalled. The display showed, I had 49 mls left to empty.I had a can with about 3 gal with me and filled it in. It would not start and I cranked the batteries empty. Had it towed the next day and I started fooling with it. first I thougt it was the GPR and I changed it as well as the relay. Fuses are all good. Still no start. Than I took the fuel filter out ( the bowl was still full) and checked if there is fuel coming out while I turned the ignition on. The pump was running for about 10 sec. and only air bubbles came out the line. Than I thought it was the fuel pump itself. I took it out and checked it on the bench, pump is running. I pressure checked the line from the pump to the filter and it's free and no leaks. I checked the line from the pump to the tank and it sounded like there is air escaping so I took the tank out. Turned out, there was a pressure relieve on top of the tank. It looked like the pick up tube in the tank has a little diafragm about 2 inches above ground and so I put everything back together and filled five more gal. in. To be sure, I drained the fuel out of the filter, left the valve open and cranked the engine for a moment. Nowthere was a solid stream of diesel coming out the drainpipe. Sounds good so far but since than I was cranking the engine for more than an hour and a half while charging the batteries with my loyal old '97 F150. Not a single fire! Desperately I disconnected the intercooler duct at the intake manifold and poored a few ounc