Travel Trailer Experience

Search this Thread

Old 01-24-2008, 04:22 PM
golfgooroo
Senior User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Travel Trailer Experience

Howdy. This forum is probably more for gearing up the truck, etc., but I'm new to RVing and looking to buy a 18'-24' TT staying under $14k or so (most likely lightly used). There are so many manufacturers, I would appreciate your opinion on the tried and true brands that will last me a long time. I know it's likely we'll upgrade as most do, but i'm not planning it. Even brands to stay away from will be helpful too. I'm going to start shopping this weekend and will hopefully find what i need without to much hassle. thanks for your help!

Old 01-24-2008, 06:06 PM
X_Hemi_Guy
Hotshot
Received 16 Likes on 9 Posts
golf,

I'm a HAPPY Jayco owner...there are SO many mfg's out there...it would be hard to point you to a universally 'accepted' mfg.

I'll tell you what brought me to Jayco. I looked at little things in the fit and finish. Cabinets, doors, storage, drawer slides, etc.

Jayco also offers a 2 year ball to bumper warranty. Some mfgs went to a 1 year for cost savings...so check on that.

If you are planning on going to an RV show this weekend...one piece of advice...go but go with the mindset of NOT BUYING...You will get overwhelmed when you walk into that arena and see ALL THOSE RV's!!!

The RV show is a GREAT place to see all the floorplans and mfgs side by side...take notes as you walk thru as you WILL get overwhelmed...

Plus...do you know what you are REALLY rated to pull after you load up your family, their gear and anything you want to carry INSIDE your truck? Most RV dealers will ask you this ONE question..."What do you drive"...they then go and look up the 'max' tow rating...never ONCE asking you if you have 4 football linemen as sons that go 225 each!...you see the weight INSIDE your truck REDUCES that 'max' tow rating...not saying you have HUGE sons...I have just talked with folks on line that DO!