1994.5 - 1997 7.3L Power Stroke Diesel  

6'' lift question

Search this Thread

Old 12-26-2007, 09:21 PM
Epd444
Elder User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
6'' lift question

I did post this in the offroad and 4x4 section, no one replied. Plus I figured I'll ask the guys that actually have the trucks and know whats up. Here it goes:

Alright guys I'll be the first to admit I'm no expert with lifts and whatnot, I know the average stuff. Now some stupid questions.

This is for my 97 F350

I already got a 4" lift with 36's, looks good but wanna go bigger. Thinkin 6'' lift, 38's or so. I know my brake lines now are kinda tight at some points, so I'm already expecting to extend them. My question is with the driveshaft and pitman arm. I already got a drop pitman arm, I think I won't need to get a different one. But the driveshafts, am I going to have to extend the front and rears, will the angle be too steep?

Thanks in advance

Old 12-26-2007, 09:25 PM
c00nhunterjoe
Post Fiend
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
i would think you are ok, std cab is awful short but as long as you get diff shims to reset your angle you will be fine. i run a 6inch on my 250 and i have plenty of shaft left. i am an extended cab but its that that big a difference, especially up front. if you go over 6 inches then i would say yes, you would need longer shafts but with the 6 inch you shuld be good to go with a lift kit and differential shims

Old 12-26-2007, 09:40 PM
Epd444
Elder User
Dont laugh, what if i get a extended cab drive shaft, be on the safe side?

Old 12-27-2007, 03:05 AM
caseydudem
More Turbo
Epd444 if you do decide to go with the six inch lift let me know and maybe we can work something out on you saleing your four inch to me.

Old 12-27-2007, 06:26 AM
fishmanndotcom
Lead Driver
Received 9 Likes on 7 Posts
i replied over there!

Originally Posted by c00nhunterjoe
i am an extended cab but its that that big a difference, especially up front.