Heater For Cigarette Lighter

Old 12-07-2007, 07:56 AM
tbenton
Freshman User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Heater For Cigarette Lighter

Does anyone have any experience with those portable interior cab heaters that plug into the lighter? My 1992 F150 work truck has lost its heat and its going to cost $400 to do all thats needed to get it to work again. Its not just the thermostat. I just put a new tranny in it so trying not to spend anymore on this oldie but goodie.

I see many reasonably priced 12V heaters that plug into the lighter and wondered if anyone has ever tried to use them? I just need 'some' warmth on my hands/feet. I am a contractor and the heat has not worked well for two years but usually I work close to home so its not been an issue but its gotten very cold here in Northern Virginia all of a sudden and my work is taking me an hour away and I am freezing!

Help would be appreciated.

Thanks
Norman

Old 12-07-2007, 08:21 AM
blue beast
Posting Guru
Check that link I gave that other poster with no heat and make your own. Those
ones from the parts stores don't last very long especially if they get a bit of moisture
or get left on the floor!!

Old 12-07-2007, 08:34 AM
tbenton
Freshman User
Thanks but that solution does not look safe to me but very creative. Those are good tips so I would never leave a portable heater on the floor or let moisture get to it. I saw some reviews that said they did not really work that well but for less than $30 it might be worth a shot. I am not looking for a lot of heat since I am dressed very warmly but my hands and feet are freezing.

Norman

Old 12-07-2007, 09:06 AM
Brawny
Junior User