Go Back   Ford Truck Enthusiasts Forums > Diesel > Bio-diesel, Propane & Alternative Diesel Engine Fuels
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-28-2007, 12:29 PM
Elder User

tazo is gaining momentum as a positive member of FTE.
B20 @ 32 degrees

So it was 28 degrees out this morning was really worried about gelling. There was no problem and the truck started and ran fine. I was wondering what would be considered too cold for B20? Also I have to splash mix B99 with #2 diesel. How well does it mix? What I do is fill up with #2 diesel then drive a few miles to the bio diesel station and fill up the rest of the tank with B99. This is only my second tank with bio so I am new to all of this.
1999 EB expedition (Wife's)
Old 11-28-2007, 09:23 PM
Senior User

diverseth is starting off with a positive reputation.
Last month i was in Asheville and it got down in the teens and my truck started up no problem just MUCH quieter. I was using B20 that I got from a Texaco station without any additive. It was my first time using BIO so I was a little nervous but my truck ran awsome in the BIO.
2006 F250 6.0 FX4 Lariat, CC/SB, Dk Stone, ProComp Xtreme AT 37 12.50 20,Quad Ballast HID Headlights, Python alarm w\remote start Eclipse AVN6600 Navigation,Sirius 10"rear Monitor and back-up camera, JLAudio Amps & Stealth box, Leer cap, 85,000+ miles on 5w40 Rotella. Coolant filter. SCT X3 By Innovative Diesel.
Old 11-28-2007, 11:23 PM
Elder User

MikeSDK is starting off with a positive reputation.
Go to biodiesel.org and look for articles on cold weather performance. I am also running B20 exclusively, here in Nashville. It has gotten down to the high 20's, and I've had no issues..

If I remember correctly, I think I saw where B20 should be good to around 5* to 10* (may have read the graph wrong) without additive like Diesel Kleen.