460 Header Help

Search this Thread

Old 11-14-2007, 09:03 AM
FordF350Baby
Posting Guru
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
460 Header Help

As you all know I have been discussing headers for a few months now, and I am getting my decision still between two sets of headers.

Hookers:

http://store.summitracing.com/partde...5&autoview=sku

Doug Thorleys:

http://store.summitracing.com/partde...5&autoview=sku

Both headers are very nice, both there two different breeds....My assumption is the Hooker headers are way more badass of a header, and probably produce more horsepower, but I bet the Doug Thorley’s are a nicer quality header, but are probably a little lame duck compared to the Hookers...I want to have the most power I can squeeze out of these things, so which do you guys think? The Thorleys’ are actually $650 because I don’t need the y-pipe ect...I think Banks is out of the question, there too expensive, and they don’t look nearly as power producing as these two. Any help is appreciated...

Last edited by FordF350Baby; 11-14-2007 at 09:05 AM.
Old 11-14-2007, 09:37 AM
dkf
Hotshot
Received 17 Likes on 17 Posts
The tri-y design of the Thorley's and Banks headers are designed more for low end power. The tri-y is supposed to give more low end than straight tubes, which is desireable for heavy trucks. The thorley's and Banks also have smaller collectors which in turn will produce more low end than the larger collector designed toward high end horsepower. I don't think you could go wrong with either design though, either will be an improvment over the stock maifolds. I'm shure adding the headers will change your exhaust note some as well.

Last edited by dkf; 11-14-2007 at 09:40 AM.
Old 11-14-2007, 10:13 AM
FordF350Baby
Posting Guru