Notices
1987 - 1996 F150 & Larger F-Series Trucks 1987 - 1996 Ford F-150, F-250, F-350 and larger pickups - including the 1997 heavy-duty F250/F350+ trucks
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

1994 F250 xl Oil Pan gasket change 2x4

Old 10-31-2007, 10:22 AM
mrjrazzo
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
1994 F250 xl Oil Pan gasket change 2x4

Hello,

Does anyone have solid advice on getting this job done? I have got so many versions of what to do and outlandish pricing from many different shops.

What are some pitfalls?

What does it take to get it done?

Thank you in advance to anyone who responds,

Jason
Denver, Colorado

Old 10-31-2007, 10:37 AM
mkratz23
Freshman User
I am pretty confident that you must raise the engine to remove this gasket. With that said it can be a daunting task better left to a pro. I say this being a pro myself due to if it starts to leak after all the work put in you can usually get them to correct it free. Good luck

Old 10-31-2007, 10:48 AM
EPNCSU2006
Lead Driver
Received 26 Likes on 22 Posts
If it's just the gasket that needs to be replaced, you do not have to lift the engine at all. The pan will drop down enough for you to get the old gasket out and to snake the new gasket back into place. Get a one piece rubber gasket from Ford and budget about 2 hours for the procedure. Pay attention to the torque specification for the pan bolts when tightening so that the new gasket does not get ruined by over-torquing. It's a pretty simple repair for the do-it-yourselfer.

Old 10-31-2007, 11:15 AM
mrjrazzo
New User
1994 F250 Oil Pan Gasket Change

Thanks for getting back to me. How do you raise the engine, jack stands? I believe that the engine on the 4x4 must be raised but on the 2x4 it does not have to be. As for torque specs on the bolts, I hear after it is snug, an additional half to three quarter turn gets the job done without damaging the gasket.

Thoughts?

Originally Posted by mkratz23