B20 question

Search this Thread

Old 10-02-2007, 06:47 PM
BNGOD
Freshman User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
B20 question

I am new to the bio fuels and was wondering if I needed anything special to run B20 in my 6.0L? I found it to be about 10 cents cheaper at the local station than the regular diesel.

Old 10-03-2007, 08:30 AM
F250_
Hotshot
Received 199 Likes on 107 Posts
I've just been talking with several guys about doing the same thing with my 2002 7.3L that has 136,000 miles on it. The universal answer is that if you have no leaks today, you'll be as "fine as frog hair split three ways".

It was suggested that you start with a couple of tanks of B5 blend first, which can be done by simply filling up with B20 once you've burned 1/4th of your tank (that doesn't mean go down the the quarter tank mark on your tank level gauge - use your known fuel mileage and trip meter to know when you've burned the right amount of fuel, which is about 120 miles for me with my 29 gallon tank.

Be prepared to see the bioD clean out your system, which could require you to change your fuel filters once or twice, so have the extra filters on hand before you start. The bioD will clean out crap in your system that can plug your filters.

Old 10-03-2007, 04:50 PM
BNGOD
Freshman User
No leaks on the truck.

How quickly will the fuel filters need to be changed out when starting out with the BioD? I understand the cleaning properties of the bio but I was concerned about having to change filters every few tanks.

Old 10-03-2007, 05:03 PM
F250_
Hotshot
Not necessary. How long before you need to change them the first (and maybe second) time will depend on how "dirty" your system is at the beginning. That's also part of what's behind the wisdom of starting at a lowly 5% for a couple of tanks ... helps make sure you don't sluff off huge things for quick pluggage.