Need help to figure out problem with trailer brakes...

Search this Thread

Old 07-20-2007, 03:19 PM
Loudmouth LS1
Freshman User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Need help to figure out problem with trailer brakes...

I am having a problem with my trailer brakes not working, or even being seen by my brake controller. I just checked over all the wiring on my truck and controller and everything is working as it should be, so it has to be something with the trailer side. The trailer is an Anderson and is only 1 year old, i've never used the brakes before, and just got my f250 and wanted to use them, so I purchased the odyssey brake controller and the adapter wire to plug into the stock harness since the truck is prewired.

What should I look for to try and find the problem on the trailer side? All the lights work and always have, just the trailer brakes are not working right now.

Thanks for any help, I appreciate it!

Old 07-20-2007, 03:32 PM
BPofMD
FTE Legend

Received 1,079 Likes on 981 Posts
First thing I'd do is test each of the truck plug connections to see if you have voltage (12 VDC) for each thing and it is going to the correct place on the trailer plug. Make sure you have a ground pin that is being used. DO NOT RELY ON THE HITCH BALL FOR YOUR GROUND!!

Old 07-20-2007, 04:04 PM
Loudmouth LS1
Freshman User
Originally Posted by BPofMD
First thing I'd do is test each of the truck plug connections to see if you have voltage (12 VDC) for each thing and it is going to the correct place on the trailer plug. Make sure you have a ground pin that is being used. DO NOT RELY ON THE HITCH BALL FOR YOUR GROUND!!
Already did all that, so I know it's not the truck, see this thread for details:

https://www.ford-trucks.com/forums/6...uper-duty.html

Old 07-20-2007, 09:40 PM
BPofMD
FTE Legend