2004 - 2008 F150 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007 and 2008 Ford F150's with 5.4 V8, 4.6 V8 engine
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

First Mod

Search this Thread

Old 07-19-2007, 02:00 PM
mordecai22
Junior User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
First Mod

I have a 2005 SCrew FX4. I am looking to make my first mod and have a couple ideas but was looking for some input on what I should do first. I am looking into exhaust and chip right now. Unfortunately I can only do one at a time till I save up a little cash. For exhaust i was looking into either magnaflow or Roush. As for the chip, the Bama or Edge are at the top of my list. Any suggestions on what I should do first or if something else might be better. I have read countless threads and that is why I have settled on the choices I above. I have never done any performance mod's before as growing up I was more into stereo's. Thanks in advance for any advice and input.

Old 07-19-2007, 02:16 PM
champ7718
Junior User
I've put off the chip due to the warranty issues. Most seem to get away with it but I've already used the warranty on several occasions and I don't want to tempt fate. My first mod was a K&N Series 77 intake, which added a significant increase in engine noise. Then a couple of weeks ago I added a Bassani Aft-Cat system (really just a muffler), which gave the truck a deeper sound. I'd like to say that these have increased my mileage but to be honest I haven't seen a significant change, I think breaking in the engine and reflashing the PCM did the most in terms of mpg. After doing the exhaust I realized that I didn't like the cat converters (4 of em in my truck) so now I'm considering rebuilding the headers and cats with a dynatech system, but its spendy. I'll probably do the chip after I kill the warranty. I'm also considering replacing all the oils in the drivetrain with synthetics which is supposed to improve mileage and is a relatively easy install and cheap comparatively.

Old 07-19-2007, 04:16 PM
T-B_MN
Senior User