Manual Tranny for my 400M

Search this Thread

Old 07-16-2007, 09:38 AM
Hodge
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Thumbs up Manual Tranny for my 400M

Hay Folks....

I've been looking on the Forum for information on Manual transmissions for my 400M but can't seem to locate anything.

I have a 400M with an Automatic transmission ( I think it's a C6 ) in my 60 F-100 and would like to covert it over to a Manual Transmission - I've already found the bellhousing to fit the 400, but don't know which or much about Manual Transmissions for this motor - This is my first attempt at doing this sort of thing - so forgive me if I sound stupid.

A friend of mine has a 5 Speed out of a 87 Stang that I can have - could that be made to fit without major modifications or are there better / easier choices....
remember - first attempt here for this sort of thing.... experience level here is maybe a strong 4 out of 10.

Anyway - I would appreciate any help, suggestions or guideance ....

I setup a gallery of my 60 ground up project for any interested parties out there. I'm currently working on the frame restoration and will be attempting to lower her down a bit... so it'll be a bit untill I get the engine rebuilt and in - rather start looking now then later....

THANKS AGAIN TO EVERYONE,

HODGE

Last edited by Hodge; 07-16-2007 at 09:41 AM. Reason: Add info
Old 07-16-2007, 12:52 PM
firstonraceday
Laughing Gas
Received 16 Likes on 12 Posts
Unless you are looking for an overdrive, there were two 4-speeds available on the 400, the Warner T-18 and the New Process 435. These would probably make for an easier swap than a manual transmission of a different application. However, some on the board have converted to later ZF 5-speed and a lot of good information is available for that swap.

Either way, for the swap from auto to manual, you'll still need the clutch pedall assembly and all the clutch linkage to complete the swap.

Old 07-16-2007, 02:12 PM
Hodge
New User
Smile