Pre-Power Stroke Diesel (7.3L IDI & 6.9L) Diesel Topics Only

BHAF Mod on a 94 idi Turbo Diesel

Search this Thread

Old 05-31-2007, 03:21 PM
brent9111
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
BHAF Mod on a 94 idi Turbo Diesel

I have a 1994 ford IDI Turbo Diesel 4x4 and was wanting to increase the fuel mileage and the power. I just bought a big honking air filter and was wondering if any one could give suggestions about how to adapt it to the idi turbo diesel. I am not a mechanic by no means, but I can follow directions. If any one else has suggestions on how to increase my fuel mileage and power and stay under $700 please let me know. Thank you for your help

Last edited by brent9111; 05-31-2007 at 03:23 PM. Reason: gramatical error
Old 05-31-2007, 03:29 PM
Oregon-Mike
Senior User
Brent,
Great timing on trying to save some $ on fuel...check one post below this for a start.

Mike

Old 06-01-2007, 01:10 AM
David85
Lead Driver
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Originally Posted by brent9111
I have a 1994 ford IDI Turbo Diesel 4x4 and was wanting to increase the fuel mileage and the power. I just bought a big honking air filter and was wondering if any one could give suggestions about how to adapt it to the idi turbo diesel. I am not a mechanic by no means, but I can follow directions. If any one else has suggestions on how to increase my fuel mileage and power and stay under $700 please let me know. Thank you for your help
If your setup is stock right now, you likely still have a 2.5" downpipe comming out of the turbo.

An upgrade from ATS puts a larger outlet housing on the turbo to accept a 3" downpipe. I don't think the mod will cost $700, and it will improve performance in terms of power and economy (and EGTs).

The floor seam at the firewall will have to be bent back to fit the larger pipe, and the bigger pipe may also give off a little more noise in the cab.

Making a ram intake to feed the air filter will also help.

Whats your milage right now?