Less miles with biodiesel....normal????

Old 05-26-2007, 07:54 PM
Robert6401
Cargo Master

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question Less miles with biodiesel....normal????

Ok, so I had been running strictly B20 for a few months , convinced that it was better for my truck, knowing that it was better for the environment, and I love the fact that biodiesel makes us less dependent on foreign oil. But one day I was nowhere near a biodiesel station and I had to use regular diesel. I had been pretty pleased with my fuel mileage with the biodiesel, but I am getting upwards of an extra 20-30 miles per tank with the regular diesel. I cant help but wonder how much better biodiesel is for the environment if I get lower fuel mileage. Seems like a double-edged sword. I just want to get some of y'alls expert opinion on this. Is this difference normal? Thanks for the help.

Bob

Old 05-26-2007, 10:53 PM
Murphy2000
Senior User
Biodiesel containes between 8% and 10% less energy per gallon than regular diesel..

Petro Diesel is about 138,000 btu's per gallon
Biodiesel is about 118,000 btu's per gallon..

Both figures can fluxuate depending on time of year, type of wvo feedstock, etc etc.

Old 05-26-2007, 11:05 PM
monsterbaby
Hotshot

Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts
But btu's aren't the entire story either. Bio is higher cetane levels then petro diesel usually which can in fact increase fuel mileage. I actually see an increase in mileage when I run bio vs straight #2 both in my PSD, and in the semi I drive. but something I have been seeing a lot of late is that some commercial biodiesel isn't that high of grade and between that and depending on the quality of the #2 the bio may not be actually increasing the cetane levels like it could and thus wouldn't be getting that benifit. but you are still getting the lubrication benifits from it as well as the better for the enviroment etc.

Old 05-27-2007, 10:36 AM
Wheatina
Senior User