Sponsored by:

Rebuilding auto locking hubs?

Search this Thread

Old 04-05-2007, 08:47 AM
scurbiedog
Senior User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Rebuilding auto locking hubs?

I know that most here like the manual hubs but I have the auto hubs and don't have a couple of hundred to change them. I have done a search and did'nt find what I was looking for so I need some help. I need to replace my rotors and was thinking I should rebuild the hubs while I'm in there. Last year or so I remember post where a guy put pictures of him rebuilding his auto hubs.Does anyone else remember that post? Or can anyone tell me the step by step and tell me the name of the tools I need to get so I can ask for the correct ones? Also my passenger side front drive shaft is loose. I can grab the shaft at the back side of the wheel and move it. Is there a bearing in there I need to replace to stop that? I guess I don't have to tell you I've never worked on the 4x4 components before. Done plenty of rotors and bearings just not locking hubs and front drive shafts.

Old 04-05-2007, 09:31 AM
scurbiedog
Senior User
Alomst forgot, I seem to remember reading another post about the correct way to put the spindle back on after replacing a bearing for the 4x4 and a way to tighten it down correctly and there was a tool for that,does anyone know its name? I know it seems like I'm asking alot but I've never done this before and want to make sure I get it right.

Old 04-05-2007, 12:30 PM
Kemicalburns
Hotshot
Received 8 Likes on 7 Posts
warn premium hubs are $80-$90 bucks. I believe they will just bolt on in place of your auto hubs. have you contacted broncograveyard?

Old 04-05-2007, 06:13 PM
lostin90s
Postmaster
Well I never had a set that worked right.Including 2 new 90's trucks . Also the set that previous owner put on that now only have 16000 miles. They left me down 2 times . Not bad for the $400.00 + he spent at Ford for the new ones installed. They made it 10 months. I swapped them for manuals.