1980 - 1986 Bullnose F100, F150 & Larger F-Series Trucks Discuss the Early Eighties Bullnose Ford Truck

Newbie Here - Some Questions

Search this Thread

Old 04-05-2007, 08:31 AM
Littlejon
Senior User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Newbie Here - Some Questions

Hey guys! Just signed up to these forums as I am "inheriting" an old Ford truck this week. I am new to Fords, so please be patient with me!

Anyway, it's an '84 F-150 4x4, 5.8l, long bed. It was my wife's step-father's truck used primarily as a beat-around/hunting truck. He passed away a couple of years ago and my MIL is giving it to me now, as she is about to re-marry. Anyway, it has been a pretty good truck, but has been parked for many months now. I have driven it a lot before, but not for well over a year.

All in all, it still runs very well. It is difficult to start when not cranked in a while, so a can of starter fluid stays in it all the time. The defroster stays on all the time, so I figure it has something broken that I need to fix. Since it blows hot air and does not have air conditioning, it is more of a nuisance than a serious problem, particularly in the summer. The tailgate also has latch issues. One of the rods connecting the handle to the latch is off and the other falls off regularly, making closing nearly impossible.

So, my questions are thus: What is the best course of action on the starting issues? I plan on driving it at least once a week, but the 2 barrel carb MAY need replacing, or at least cleaning out. How difficult is this to rebuild or should I just look at a new one at some point? Also, should I look at a manual choke for it or is there one even available?