1948 - 1956 F1, F100 & Larger F-Series Trucks Discuss the Fat Fendered and Classic Ford Trucks

51 Mercury 1/2 ton help

Search this Thread

Old 03-25-2007, 09:27 PM
Jimalberta
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
51 Mercury 1/2 ton help

Hi. I'm brand new here and so here goes... I just bought a 1951 Mercury 1/2 ton with a flathead v8 in it. The engine is complete and dry and turns over fine. I would like to try to start it up and will probably clean out the pan and oil sump, change the oil and filter and give it a try. BUT...the fuel pump and the other part that attaches the fuel pump to the intake manifold( I think the push rod travels in it) are missing. My question is this...is it ok to blank the intake manifold off and use an electric fuel pump regulated down to 2 psi to try to start it and would it run ok this way? thanks for any and all input as I have limited knowledge on these motors.....Jim

Old 03-25-2007, 09:52 PM
jgurland
Senior User
Jim-

Welcome to the forum! You've discovered the single best resource for Ford/Mercury trucks.

When I bought my '53 F100 (with a flathead V8) it was set up just like you describe and it ran. Since I was taking my truck back to stock, though, I ditched the electric pump and was able to pick up a brand new fuel pump and push rod (exact of originals) for around $45. There are plenty of suppliers that have them, so if you're planning to spend any more than that on the electric setup, you may want to reconsider.

Also, your truck was originally 6 volts. If it hasn't been converted, I suppose you'll need a 6V pump.

Good luck! You'll find that the people around here love to see pictures, too, so if you get some time, please set up your gallery and show off your truck.

Old 03-25-2007, 11:33 PM
Fomoko1
Received 1,353 Likes on 1,112 Posts
Welcome Jim, nice to have you on board.
Don`t forget to visit your local Alberta FTE Chapter, here is the link: https://www.ford-trucks.com/forums/forum79/.