Sponsored by: Moser

78 F250 rear brake drums

Search this Thread

Old 03-19-2007, 10:17 PM
mason55
Tuned
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
78 F250 rear brake drums

I have a 78 F250 that I am in the process of getting running again. One of many things on the list is the brakes and thats what I am currently doing. I am presently doing the rear brakes. Let's first say that I am not a mechanic by any means, I have tools and the ambition and can take things apart and put them back together again. With that said I took off the rear tires(after jacking it up and using jack stands)and thought that how to remove and what still seems to be the correct way to remove these particular brake drums was to remove the axles and bearings and remove the whole hub/drum as it appears to be all one piece? When I went to the auto part store to get the new drums they look like drums from a 1/2 ton w/8 lug holes? I told the guy that wasn't even close and he said that I didn't need to remove the whole hub just the drum and that the ones that I have, must be rusted together and to try taking a hammer and get them sepperated? When I got home I tried a couple good whacks with a ball pean but nothing? I didn't want to whack away on these things as I still think that it one piece!! So back to the "not a mechanic" statement and the P.O.S. Haynes repair manual doesn't really show a picture or explain the removal of the rear brake drums on a 78 F250 can somebody please help!!!!!

Thank's
Mason

Old 03-19-2007, 10:28 PM
Mil1ion
New User
Received 11 Likes on 11 Posts
I bet there are near 40 threads in the Steering/Brakes forum on the Dana drum removal that go in-depth on the repair procedure.

I'll go look for you.

EDIT:
Found a couple.

It would have made things so much easier if the user had of put the topic in the title.

https://www.ford-trucks.com/forums/2...lp-needed.html

https://www.ford-trucks.com/forums/3...icky-drum.html

Last edited by Mil1ion; 03-19-2007 at 10:41 PM.
Old 03-19-2007, 10:58 PM