N. California Chapter Join Chapter , Leader: Nighteyez

First Time with Bondo

Search this Thread

Old 02-25-2007, 03:13 AM
fastmover
Posting Guru
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Talking First Time with Bondo

Well, I thought I got a lot done today, but when I look at my work I only filled about 10 holes in my fenders.

I got a couple of great fenders from Tigerdan a couple of weeks ago. They came with moulding the ran down the bump. My truck does not have that moulding so I had to fill them.

Using Dan's suggestion. I slightly dented the holes in to get rid of the lip. I then sanded by hand each hole. Next came the fun part... Bondo.

I have never used the stuff before. It has the consistancy of stirred natural peanut butter (with the oil). As you can see in the first picture, i put too much on. That was ok, it gave me a chance to try out my "cheese grater" on it. After some sanding and touch ups with the glaze stuff, I put a few light coats of primer and was onto the second fender.

The second one is the blue one. It was more of a challenge. Three of the holes were much bigger (1/2 inch or so). I was not sure if they were too big to fill with bondo, so I got these reinforcing metal mesh things that are made to fill in holes in body work. The worked great. After mixing more bondo, lots of sanding and some more primer, I was done for the day.

Next step is to brush out the rust on the inside of the fenders and coat it with Rust Doctor. After that I will paint them with either rustoleum or a truck bedliner. I'm not sure which is best.

Lessons learned:
A little Bondo goes a long ways

Wear rubber gloves, I can not get the stuff off my hands!

Double your estimated time to repair stuff

Don't use your wife's tupperware to mix bondo in it. It didn't all come out and she is not happy about losing a good piece of tupperware.