1948 - 1956 F1, F100 & Larger F-Series Trucks Discuss the Fat Fendered and Classic Ford Trucks

1955 Ford F-100 restoration

Search this Thread

Old 01-23-2007, 01:04 PM
mikew65
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
1955 Ford F-100 restoration

I have a 1955 Ford F-100, 3 sp. - 6 cyl. that I would like to restore. I would like to keep most of it original, but I would also like to look into upgrading the mechanical to allow myself to drive it more often. Should I keep everything intact when restoring or will I greatly reduce the value of the vehicle if I upgrade to a newer engine/transmission/brakes/etc. to allow myself to use it more often?

I have a line on a Ford 302, Ford 383 and Chevy small block engine, is there a common upgrade that most people use for restoring/upgrading these old trucks that maintains/increases their value without destroying the integrity of the original vehicle. I had someone tell me a Chevy S-10 frame is popular as an upgrade on these as well? I'm new to this and trying to learn as I go, so please bear with me.

Old 01-23-2007, 01:14 PM
jgurland
Senior User
Welcome to the board, Mike! You'll find a lot of useful information here as well as some great people who are very helpful.

Unfortunately, I'm only here to say hello because I'm not qualified to answer your questions. But I wish you luck with your restoration and I hope you'll take some pictures of your project to share in the gallery. I know we all enjoy seeing the start-to-finish.

Old 01-23-2007, 01:17 PM
Soldierboy
Freshman User
Hi, from one new member to the other you need to do only one thing on this website. that is never mention the word ch..y or suggest that you are considering replacing a ford part/assembly with a ch..y one. good luck with the resto but be warned....

Old 01-23-2007, 01:26 PM
stewards68
Senior User