Go Back   Ford Truck Enthusiasts Forums > Super Duty/Heavy Duty > Super Duty & Heavy Duty
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?

Super Duty & Heavy Duty 1999 to current Ford F250, F350, F450 and F550 Super Duty with diesel V8 and gas V8 and V10 engines SPONSORED BY:

Welcome to Ford-Trucks Forums!
Welcome to Ford-Trucks.com.

You are currently viewing our forums as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join the Ford-Trucks Forums community today!

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-21-2007, 03:53 PM
New User

Steve Combs is starting off with a positive reputation.
Auto locking hubs

I'm new to this type so excuse me for being a rookie but my F350 4x4 won't go into 4 wheel drive unless I get out and take them out of auto and put them in locked position and when I have it in lock mode it seams to work like it's in auto mode,when I put the switch on the dash in 2wd, it seams like it's only driving the back wheels,any help would be nice
Old 01-21-2007, 06:09 PM
Post Fiend

biz4two has a great reputation on FTE.biz4two has a great reputation on FTE.biz4two has a great reputation on FTE.biz4two has a great reputation on FTE.
Arrow

Your ESOF system is working as designed when you put the hubs in the 'LOCK' position. Keep in mind that when you put the switch to 2HI...the transfer case disengages. The front hubs are still locked, but the front drive shaft is not engaged at the transfer case. (hope that makes sense)

The real issue is the ESOF hubs in 'AUTO' are not working. Could be the vacuum lines, vacuum actuator, or the hubs themselves. If the hubs...then they need to be replaced and that is a Dealer only part...at about $250-$300 each.