Delaware Chapter Join Chapter, Leader: pbsdaddy

Never Fear, Argo's Here!b

Search this Thread

Old 01-13-2007, 10:18 PM
Argo
Posting Guru
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Never Fear, Argo's Here!

Well, in May 2006, the Argo began to call Delaware it's home port. Delaware and I and my truck (the Argo, hence my user name) have a long history. Way back in 1988 (8th grade) I became friends with a guy named Al Graeber III (we used to call thim Al Graeber the "turd"). His father, Al Graeber Junior, ran a Speed Shop called Al Graeber's Speedway Engineering, and he had sucessfully campaigned a Dodge Charger Funny Car in the late 60's/early 70's. Needless to say, "little Al" raced 1/4 midgets at Airport Speedway, and I used to tag along from time to time. Back in 1992, I graduated from Springfield High School in Delaware Couny PA, and Folcroft Vo-Tech, also in Delco (What Delaware County folks refer to their county as), and I began attending school at Del-Tech in the General Motors A.S.E.P. program. During all of this, the Argo was partially still in the ground, as Iron Ore, partly scrap steel from the Battleship South Dakota (no I can't prove it, but you can't disprove it either ), and part UPS truck. I graduated from Del-Tech in 1994, and kept in touch with a few of my classmates through the years. Who went to work for Del-DOT (more on tha later). I worked in a few GM Dealerships, bought a GMC Sonoma (and learned why GMC stands for "God's Mechanical Curse"),and got disgusted with the miserable little clunker. I worked at Luke Oldsmobile at the time (my most positive dealership experience, a fantastic place to work!), and the service writer was friendly with a salesman at Robin Ford. So he told me to go talk to the guy, and I looked at the Argo then, when she was brand new. But the price was too steep. I passed on the deal. Well, about 2 mos. later, the Argo appeared on our used car lot at Luke's (and the GMC blew it's head gasket at 38,000 miles, and GM told me it was my baby