1997 - 2003 F150 1997-2003 F150, 1997-1999 F250LD, 7700 & 2004 F150 Heritage

Cold weather spark knock

Search this Thread

Old 01-12-2007, 05:16 PM
jimbo8
Freshman User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Cold weather spark knock

I've been working this problem a little at a time for a couple of months now. When the outside temp drops below 75 degrees or so my 97 F150 4.6 starts to spark knock under accelleration. The colder it is outside, the wrose it gets. The truck has 113K miles on it. I've changed the plugs, air filter, cleaned the MAF, cleaned the EGR ports which were almost completely clogged, and installed a new air temp sensor. There may have been some improvment as all of this has been done but not enough. Switching from 87 octane to 91 helped a little but didn't cure the problem. Do these engines have a known problem with carbon buildup in the cylinders?

Old 01-12-2007, 06:46 PM
Bluegrass 7
Lead Driver
Received 93 Likes on 74 Posts
Test the EGR operation to make sure it is not leaking exhaust gas into the intake.
Test the EGR valve seperate, test for vacuum getting by the EVR and test for false EVR action while driving under acceleration.
The EVR has a filter in it's body that may be plugged or have frozen moisture.
It is there to filter air that the EVR lets back into the EGR so it wil close up again once operated by vacuum.
The EGR is not supposed to function at idle, or at throttles above about 7/8th.
Only in a cruise condition, low load and between about 1600 rpm and about 2400 +/-.
To test actual operation, install a vacuum Tee and a vacuum gage to see while on the road. You should see about 3 to 5 inches of vacum depending on throttle opening while in a cruise condition. Vacuum at any other time is not correct.
Exhaust gas leans out the mix and has the same effect as low octane gas.
When the correct EGR operation is taking place the PCM make changes in the ignition timing and the amount of fuel injected to take care of the action.