1994.5 - 1997 7.3L Power Stroke Diesel  

Ball Joint Time....Questions

Search this Thread

Old 12-03-2006, 05:59 PM
StinkyD
Junior User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Red face Ball Joint Time....Questions

Tried to do a search but for some reason I am not able to access that page. So bare with me if this topic has been brought up a gazillion times. Found out my auto lock hubs are pooched, nothing like getting stuck in the snow. So I bought some manual lock hubs and spindle kit. Since i am going to have the spindle pretty much torn down might as well do my ball joints while I am in there. The drivers side has some play so it needs attention but going to do both sides. Other than the upper and lower ball joints, what other parts do I need? This is my first time tackling this job, I have all the tools to do the job. Are the wheel bearings servicable? The truck has 190,000km. Any help would be appreciated

Old 12-03-2006, 06:33 PM
Orezona
Postmaster
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
I don't know if you already have the ball joints, if not, this place is more than very competative with prices.

http://www.powerstrokeshop.com/

Old 12-03-2006, 06:50 PM
StinkyD
Junior User
Who manufactures the ball joints at Powerstoke.com? I haven't bought anything yet, I was going to go with Napa's premiums. I read they are made by Spicer. Just want something that will last another 10 years or there abouts.

Old 12-03-2006, 10:01 PM
ech0sh4y
Posting Guru
StinkyD - Let me know how it goes I have to change out my ball joints on my 96 250 psd... funny my driver sides is gone also. Good luck! Keep Us posted

Old 12-04-2006, 01:22 AM
StinkyD
Junior User
Won't be until the new year before I can tackle this job, just sourcing the parts I need right now. If I remember when I am changing them out, I'll take some pictures and throw together a write up. Just deciding if I want to order new wheel bearings or hope the OEM ones are still good

Old 12-04-2006, 03:23 AM
DAVID'S97F250HD
Posting Guru