Pre-Power Stroke Diesel (7.3L IDI & 6.9L) Diesel Topics Only

'94 Turbo Diesel leaking at injector

Search this Thread

Old 11-04-2006, 05:57 PM
redward
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
'94 Turbo Diesel leaking at injector

Good evening all. I have an F-350 '94 7.3 L IDI Turbo diesel with about 140K miles on it that's leaking fuel badly. After some investigation, I noticed that the passenger side injector, closest to the firewall was really leaking badly at the injector itself. Reading through previous posts, it sounds like all that's required is to replace the o-ring(s) on the part that's between the steel fuel line and the rubber return line. I've never worked on a diesel before, so am looking for some guidance.

It sounds like I can pick up the necessary parts at my local dealer, and that I need to be very careful not to kink the steel fuel line when removing it. Do I just back off the steel line, remove the rubber return line and the plastic piece that's leaking just comes apart? I also noticed fuel seepage at a couple other injectors - if I go to the trouble of replacing the o-ring(s), should I replace the return lines as well?

Also, while I'm asking, how hard is it to replace the glow plugs on this engine? I noticed over the summer that it was hard to start (I leave the heater on all the time in cool/cold weather).
Thanks for all the help! (I love this truck )

Old 11-05-2006, 07:49 AM
deanj
Senior User