2007 - 2014 Expedition & Navigator 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013 and 2014 Ford Expedition and Lincoln Navigator

Break-in period?

Search this Thread

Old 10-19-2006, 07:30 PM
Eric123
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Break-in period?

I just picked up my EL Ltd the other day, and I have a question for anyone willing to answer. I've hear varying accounts about breaking in a new car and engine. What, if any, guidelines should I follow for the first couple of months and/or first couple thousand miles?
Thanks a lot for the help.

Old 10-20-2006, 01:07 AM
Radcad
New User
My '02 Sport Trac had engine break-in instructions in the owner's manual. When I read through my Expedition owner's manual, I noted there were no break-in instructions. I asked my local Ford mechanic about this, and he said there is no break-in period with this engine. Hmmm...I'm playing it safe anyway. I'm not a mechanic by any stretch, but I'm staying below 4,000 rpm's for the first 1,000 miles just to be sure. With all the low-end torque of the Expy's engine, you'll still have plenty of giddy up without having to wind it out.

Anyone out there know if no break-in period is indeed a characteristic of this engine?

Old 10-20-2006, 01:42 AM
MisterCMK
Fleet Owner
Received 53 Likes on 43 Posts
We beat the hell outtta the new 2007 Mustang GT at my house when it had less than 200 miles on it.

Old 10-20-2006, 07:34 PM
RangerPilot
Post Fiend
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Found this somewhere else a long time ago, have it saved on my comp now: