6.0L Power Stroke Diesel 2003 - 2007 F250, F350 pickup and F350+ Cab Chassis, 2003 - 2005 Excursion and 2003 - 2009 van

Would you buy a new Ford Diesel?

Search this Thread

Old 09-06-2006, 11:17 PM
akeric
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Would you buy a new Ford Diesel?

Hi folks. Newbie here.

So would you buy a new Ford with the 6.0 L diesel?

I'm seeing some good prices on a new 2006 Crew Cab F250 4x4 6spd base model truck with 3.73 gears. Haven't owned a new truck in a long time and I'm getting tired of wrenching on old trucks. Last Ford was a '89 F150 4x4 with the straight 6. Good truck.

For me it's gonna be a daily commuter at 30 miles a day total and used to carry the whole family including 4 kids and the dog for hunting, fishing camping and scouts. No real hard work or heavy towing. A couple snow machines would be about max. Dependability is much more important than performance, decent economy say 16-18mpg would be nice.

It will see lots of winter use here in Alaska but the winter temps don't go much below -20 around here. Just lots of days at 0 to 20 every winter.

I'm also considering the 5.4l gasser in the crew cab.

A new truck is a major investment for our family so I'm trying to get a feel for how good these trucks are from you folks who have been there, done that, before I jump. Have you been satisfied with your Ford 6.0?

Thanks.
Eric

Old 09-06-2006, 11:27 PM
SoCalSuperDuty03
Elder User
Eric,
I have always been a Chevrolet guy, my '03 is my first new Ford (truck). Even as problematic as some of the '03's were, I love my truck, it has been relatively trouble free, and I believe the '06's are much superior. I wouldn't drive a 5.4 if it was given to me, although I would sell it to someone else. Several of my family members have owned 5.4 and v10 trucks, and in my opinion are fuel guzzling dogs. Drive them both, you probably will not buy a gasser.

Tim

Old 09-06-2006, 11:55 PM
MIKE1646
Laughing Gas
Received 22 Likes on 18 Posts