1997 F150/ 2005 Trailer/ Wiring Diagram 4pin - 7pin??

Search this Thread

Old 08-25-2006, 09:54 AM
o4SCrew
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question 1997 F150/ 2005 Trailer/ Wiring Diagram 4pin - 7pin??

Guys,

Newbie here to trailers...

I need someone to kindly help me with the installation of a 7 pin blade plug on a 1997 F150 with the OEM 4 pin plug. I know that the easiest way is to match up the colors.. but I have three wires left over that I have no clue where they should go.

I have searched online and almost all the DIY writeups just tell me that "this orange wire is AUX and this other one is 12v hot and this other one is for the brakes..:

I know this.. I need to know WHERE to connect the AUX, 12VHOT and BRAKES to.. Is there a wire or fuse I need to run these to?

Thank you for your pacience on the newbie question and for your overall help in advance!!!

Old 08-25-2006, 10:40 AM
teepee542
Senior User
I went to Northern Tool. They had a connector with a bumper mount bracket that had both a 7 pin and 4 pin connector on it. On the back it had a place to plug the existing 4 pin plug and it had the 3 additional wires hanging off of it so you can add a brake controller. This kept me from having to cut any wires or figure out which wire went where. It also gives me a 4 pin connector so I don't need an adapater for my boat trailer.

Old 08-27-2006, 11:31 AM
o4SCrew
New User
I just got that plug..

Can you tell me where you connected those three wires to?

Thanks!

Old 08-27-2006, 02:31 PM
tjc transport
i ain't rite
Received 3,100 Likes on 2,162 Posts
those wires go to connections you have to make. for the 12 volt hot, run a wire from the battery to a maxi fuse or circuit breaker, then to the back of the truck.
for the brake wire, you will need to run a wire from the brake controller.
and the aux power is usually tapped into a switched power source, then run to the back . you will need to add and run these wires down the frame.

Old 09-06-2006, 02:20 AM