Go Back   Ford Truck Enthusiasts Forums > Diesel > Bio-diesel, Propane & Alternative Diesel Engine Fuels
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-31-2006, 04:26 PM
Postmaster

mongo75 is a name known to allmongo75 is a name known to allmongo75 is a name known to allmongo75 is a name known to allmongo75 is a name known to allmongo75 is a name known to all
danny jones
New diesel owner w/ alt fuel question

Hi ya'll. I'm a US Marine helo mechanic, and we pull fuel samples (a quart) on up to 30 aircraft a day to check for water contamination. We run JP-5 and I was wondering if I can safely run it in my 99 7.3L Powerstroke. We usually dump the samples in our support gear that have diesels. ALSO, we pull hydraulic fluid samples, and use a petro based dry cleaing fluid called "PD-680" to thin it out so it'll go through a 5 micron filter. Can that be burned safely too? I know it'll be clean of anything up to 5 mic, so it should be ok. I'm looking for any advice to save money on my 100 mile a day commute! Semper FI.
Danny PAA member #12
SoCal Chapter Member
E99 F-350 Dually Van turbo 4x4 CC LB 7.3L, AFE intake, 3 gauge pillar, 4" Magnaflow SS str8-pipe, DP Tuner, Swamps 175/146 SS inj, ARP head and bottom studs, Comp 910 springs, ITP Ovrbst, CCV mod, SS HPX, home made Reg-return, Foil Del, ZooDad, Air Horns 320hp/704tq
Old 07-31-2006, 05:48 PM
Posting Guru

Phydeaux88 is gaining momentum as a positive member of FTE.Phydeaux88 is gaining momentum as a positive member of FTE.
From my USAF days I remember jet fuel (JP-4 back then) as being hi quality kerosene.

If JP-5 is essentially the same it should work.
Kerosene is essentially a 12 to 15 carbon long chain whereas Diesel is a 10 to 15 carbon lenght chain so kerosene is esentially a component of diesel.

I am not so sure about the hydraulic fluid and the dry cleaning fluid additive could cause problems with seals, gaskets, and fuel lines.