1997 - 2003 F150 1997-2003 F150, 1997-1999 F250LD, 7700 & 2004 F150 Heritage

2001 4.6 Misfiring (A Sad Tale)

Search this Thread

Old 05-08-2006, 06:13 PM
tdchandler
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
2001 4.6 Misfiring (A Sad Tale)

This is my first post so please forgive my clumsiness and BAD spelling.

I have a 2001 F-150 Super Crew. I bought the truck new and I do my own maintenance and troubleshooting. I am a pretty good mechanic and have the necessary tools and equipment so this was no problem. It is knowledge and talent that I ran out of.

About two weeks ago my truck started misfiring for no apparent reason. It was the classical at speed under load miss so naturally I knew it was some sort of ignition problem. I continued to drive the truck, as I knew eventually it would throw a code and then I could get to work fixing the miss. Well after a couple of days and still no code I was getting pretty worried. I took the truck down and changed the spark plugs even though I knew this probably would not work. Low and be hold it didn’t. The truck idled great but ran real bad on the road . Like I said before, the typical high-speed spark plug or coil-over-plug (COP) miss. I know what a COP miss is all about because I have changed three of them. I have a bad habit of washing my engine and eventually water gets down in the spark plug well and shorts out the COP. After changing three of them I figured out how to seal the COP boot with dielectric grease so I thought I had the problem whipped. But, back to the problem at hand for now. After several days of troubleshooting and still not finding a thing I gave up and took my beloved F-150 back to the dealer. This was the first time they had seen the truck since I drove it off the showroom floor. Of course they were glad to see me and yes they had their credit card machine all lubed up and ready to go.