Garage & Workshop Tips & Ideas for the garage or workshop. No Truck Tech Discussion   

Any good websites on the basics of welding & cutting?

Search this Thread

Old 03-24-2002, 07:19 PM
IGKYA
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I would like to learn so that I can do some exhaust work on my truck.

Thanks in advance!

Old 05-06-2002, 10:14 PM
lowriderpimp27
New User

Try this one it has a lot of info, I thought it was good but I am just starting to learn how to weld.

http://www.machinist.org/army_welding/

Old 05-15-2002, 01:42 PM
mcgyver42
Cross-Country

I thought this one looked good, but I'm no welder:

http://www.bernzomatic.com/howto.htm

[i][font color=red]-Mark[i]

[font color=green]'85 F250 4WD 460
'85 Yamaha XJ700 Maxim
'83 Mustang convertible up on blocks

[font color=blue][i]"If a man speaks and no woman hears him, is he still wrong?"[i]

Old 06-07-2002, 11:26 PM
Ziggy___
Freshman User

I used to work as an industrial mechanic and did a fair amount of welding. The books are good for learning certain guide lines, but welding is a bit of an art and can only be learned by practice. I suggest gathering some scraps similar to what you plan to weld and experimenting to see what does and doesn't produce a satisfactory weld. Even when welds look good, test their strength. Some of the best looking welds pull right apart and some of the ugliest are strong.
Cutting is not very hard. Cutting a straight line is. We often used guides to run the tip along to get straight cuts.
Be careful when cutting or welding. Fires are easier to accidently start than most people think and sparks of molten metal can go far.

Ziggy

Old 06-08-2002, 10:49 AM
banjosford
New User

miller has a tech page that after 40 years of welding i still learned from.

Old 06-16-2002, 04:19 PM
PSD_Power
Elder User