1994.5 - 1997 7.3L Power Stroke Diesel  

Fuel Filter Housing HELP!!!! PLEASE!

Search this Thread

Old 02-20-2006, 04:06 PM
Brians97F250Crew
Elder User
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Fuel Filter Housing HELP!!!! PLEASE!

Changed my fuel filter this afternoon. I crapped my pants at what I found. This is my first time changing it since I bought it in November. The previous owner changed it just before I got it in October ( had proof ) so I didn't mess with it until now.
This morning the truck started a little rough and ran kinda crappy for a bit and then got better. Thought .. well I'll replace the FF just in case. I got some fuel at different places out of town last week so no telling if I got water or stuff.
Well opened it up and drained it and the fuel was coming out ORANGE!!! You'd a thought it was off road fuel or something. I did have a little water in the jar when it finished draining. then pulled the filter out and found all this rust and crap in there. Along with a broken wire like thing ( fuel heater?? ). I didn't have any fresh diesel to flush it out with so I strained the original amount through a cloth. It clogged that sucker up with debris. flushed it out twice and had to burp it with compressed air a couple times to dislodge chunks from the drain line. There was a 1/2 inch of crap in the bottom as seen on the screwdriver.

My questions are these :
1. Is my housing screwed?
2. The plate the filter sits on is it replaceable by itself?
3. How bad does this look?
4. Should I look farther back into the tanks for possible contamination?
5. Where is that screen everyone is talking about to clean out when changing the filter?

After seeing this mess. I'm inclined to put a prefilter on my chassis to catch all this crap before it gets up to the engine housing.
If I have a rusting tank it's probably the rear one. I'm unable to pull the last 1/4 tank of fuel out of it due to the lower pickup rubber cone has fallen off.