Ospho does it hurt anything?

Search this Thread

Old 02-14-2006, 06:05 PM
78fordranger
Senior User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Ospho does it hurt anything?

I keep hearing about this Ospho stuff sounds like a cheap fix for rust problems. I am still new to body repair going to have to learn on this truck because it needs alot of it. I was wondering does Ospho hurt fuel lines or wires? I mean can I pessure wash the bottum of my truck then spray every thing uderneath ? Or do I have to remove certain things?

Old 02-14-2006, 07:05 PM
tjc transport
i ain't rite
Received 3,090 Likes on 2,154 Posts
it don't eat the steel, it neutralizes the rust.you should give it a good pressure washing first to get all the rust flake off. then spray the ospho on. it will change color when it is done doing its thing. black if i remember correctly.

Old 02-14-2006, 07:23 PM
frederic
Post Fiend
Received 11 Likes on 11 Posts
While I was careful in applying it to my crewcab's frame, I did manage to dribble it on various things I didn't remove (fuel lines - I just pulled them off the clips and let them hang, and so forth). It didn't eat the flexible portions of the fuel and brake lines, but it's not something you want to dribble on your fuel connectors for example - because if they are rusty - the rust is going to be converted to primer, and you'll never get them open.

If you have the bed off, you can just unclip the electrical, brake lines, and fuel lines and let them dangle a few inches away from the frame, then you apply the ospho inside the frame with an ordinary cheap paintbrush.

And yes, the rust turns black, for a nice "pickled effect" like so:

AFTER OSPHO:

AFTER PRIMER/PAINT:

Last edited by frederic; 02-14-2006 at 07:29 PM.
Old 02-14-2006, 07:40 PM
78fordranger
Senior User
I wanted to use it on the bottom of my bed, cab and under the hood and inside my fenders too

Old 02-15-2006, 05:48 AM
frederic
Post Fiend