Bio-diesel OK for turbo diesel applications?

Old 02-01-2006, 08:59 PM
Michael Sizemore
Senior User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Bio-diesel OK for turbo diesel applications?

I'm very new to the idea of bio-diesel, but I am intersted in making it myself.

What is the best bio-diesel newbie guide?

Is there any reason why it wouldn;t be good in a turbo'd diesel?

Also, is there any Ford diesel that would better handle bio-diesel?

I am actually toying with the notion of locating a newer diesel engine for my 1973 F100. I had been thinking of going with a 390 FE motor, but I seen a wrecked late model F350, which gave me the idea of going with a diesel instead. The 240 inline 6 is leaving the engine bay wither way, and I know of a few guys that make it locally that can help me get started...

So I figured I'd bring it up here in the forum...

If it works out good, might even try to wedge one in the expedition later on down the road...

Thanks all!

Old 02-02-2006, 12:19 PM
fabmandelux
Post Fiend
Received 8 Likes on 8 Posts
Originally Posted by Michael Sizemore
I'm very new to the idea of bio-diesel, but I am intersted in making it myself.

Is there any reason why it wouldn;t be good in a turbo'd diesel?

Also, is there any Ford diesel that would better handle bio-diesel?

I am actually toying with the notion of locating a newer diesel engine for my 1973 F100. I had been thinking of going with a 390 FE motor, but I seen a wrecked late model F350, which gave me the idea of going with a diesel instead. The 240 inline 6 is leaving the engine bay wither way, and I know of a few guys that make it locally that can help me get started...

So I figured I'd bring it up here in the forum...

If it works out good, might even try to wedge one in the expedition later on down the road...

Thanks all!
THE place to start is : http://www.biodieselcommunity.org