Illinois Chapter Join Chapter Leader: wpnaes

IL lift law questions???

Search this Thread

Old 12-13-2005, 11:58 AM
clearedforlandin
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
IL lift law questions???

hello everyone, newbie here. grew up in chester, il (with no probs from the locals for big trucks ), went to school in st. louis, then moved to alabama(no problem at alllll with big trucks ), then some time in iraq. now i am in columbia, il and i am around belleville, columbia, and waterloo (all which are jerks about such business ) i need to find some exceptions to the laws. i know some of you have found them.
i am looking to pick up a v10 f250 with 8 inches of lift and 38.5 boggers on friday... i wish i could just get a doctors note like i used to for tinted glass, haha . is there anyway around the tickets??? i own my own business so would registering it as a commercial vehicle change anything??? anybody live in this area and drive something that is too big??? tickets??? how much are they???? any and all help would be greatly appreciated.

Old 12-13-2005, 05:47 PM
whowey
Senior User
The only help I can be, is that when my BIL and SIL lived at Scott, we used to visit. The Belleville police seem to have nothing better to do than to hassle people with lifted/dropped/riced out vehicles. My Jeep only rides on 5 inches of lift, with 33" tires, and the lowest part of the main bumper structure is 21" above the pavement. I was stopped on an average of 50% of the trips there. It got so bad I would carry a copy of the IVC on lifts with me, so that when the police would start their speel and get out the tape, I could offer it to them to show me what I had violated.

Old 12-13-2005, 07:19 PM
BIGRNU
Senior User
If you can keep your frame height within reason (Donahoe says their 8" lift will keep you legal), you could always work on some bumper modification...