A few questions to get me started

Search this Thread

Old 12-08-2005, 07:06 AM
59F1004x4
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
A few questions to get me started

Hey guys, new to the board and have a few questions. I just picked up a '59 4x4 with a 292, and I'm new to Y-blocks. I'm not planning on doing too much, but have a few things I want to do up front. So, here's my list of questions, sorry to ask them all at once, but feel free to pick your favorite :

First, I was able to get a '57 intake for it, and I'm planning on running a Holley 600 VS that I have . . . it's a versatile little carb and I think it should be fine, but any thoughts on it would be good to hear.

Next, I also got some dual exhaust manifolds from the same guy, and will be routing all that out first. I have a ton of 2.5" stuff from my Mustang already here, but I'm thinking that might be a bit big - should I bite the bullet and go with 2 1/4?

On the same note, I think I want to run glasspacks on it for the old-school effect - any thoughts on what sounds good out there? (ie, brands and length). Should I run it out the back, turndowns, or out the sides? My other project is a '69 convertible mustang with a 408, so I'm already on close watch from my neigbors. I'm looking for a good nasty rumble, but don't want to rattle any windows!

Okay, still more - is there a Pertronix kit for the '59 Ys? I can only seem to find them for the older dizzy, but would really like to do that up front.

And last thing, I don't have posession of the truck yet, but the previous owner said he was having troubles keeping it running because it was running out of fuel. My guess is that it might be as simple as float adjustment, but he mentioned that he thought the fuel filter below the pump was clogged. I'm not familiar with that style pump . . . are there any other common causes for fuel starvation in these?