Go Back   Ford Truck Enthusiasts Forums > Diesel > Pre-Power Stroke Diesel (7.3L IDI & 6.9L)
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?

Pre-Power Stroke Diesel (7.3L IDI & 6.9L) Diesel Topics Only

Welcome to Ford-Trucks Forums!
Welcome to Ford-Trucks.com.

You are currently viewing our forums as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join the Ford-Trucks Forums community today!

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-02-2005, 03:12 PM
Junior User

rfish84 is starting off with a positive reputation.
Trying to start, truck turns over, back off the key STILL TURNING OVER !!!

Somebody help me here. I am not a mechanic, but i am fairly intelligent and very good with tools.

1988 F350 7.3 diesel with 130K
Great truck, havent had any problems since i got it in the spring.

The other day i went to start the truck, turned it over and it didnt start on the first try.
(this happens from time to time, but it always goes on the second try)

Well when i backed off the key, the truck continued to turn over. I repeated the motion on the ignition cylinder, took the key out, still turning over the engine by itself until it killed both batteries.

I replaced the starter solenoid thinking maybe it was frozen open. No luck. Still does it. I will re-charge the batts,try again. Its like whatever is supposed to tell the thing to stop trying to start, isnt telling it.

Somebody help me!! i am going crazy
Old 12-02-2005, 03:15 PM
Junior User

Bye the way, in addition to what i just said: