Go Back   Ford Truck Enthusiasts Forums > Performance, Engines & Troubleshooting > Ford Inline Six, 200, 250, 4.9L / 300
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?

Welcome to Ford-Trucks Forums!
Welcome to Ford-Trucks.com.

You are currently viewing our forums as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join the Ford-Trucks Forums community today!

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-24-2005, 08:59 PM
Senior User

bluesuedetruck is starting off with a positive reputation.
Help with Vacuum Lines, etc. On 1980 F-100

I know this question has probably been asked plenty of times and I apologize for repeating it but...I am new to the 4.9 six and the Carter YFA 1 bbl. I bought this 1980 F-100 w/auto, NO A/C, NO power brakes and only has P/S. All the parts appear to be in place on the motor but are original, so old. It ran fairly well for a couple of days. It had been sitting for a year or two indoors (PO said he only put 600 miles on it in three years) and I have now pulled the carb off to do a rebuild (due to a gasket leak), the PO had disconnected the smog air pump and several of the vacuum lines have been plugged with screws. I want to clean up the engine and am NOT concerned about emissions as the vehicle is registered "Historic", no N.J. state inspection required.

FINALLY, to the main point...Which vacuum lines, imission valves and other valves (EGR,etc.) do I REALLY need to make the 4.9 run correctly? Most of the rubber and plastic vacuum lines are dry/brittle and will be replaced IF NECESSARY ONLY. I want to "streamline" this motor as much as possible and make it run smoothly. I do NOT want to "beef it up" with modifications.